Research Committee

Quick Navigation

International Research Committee

Dr Gleave is a BC Leadership Chair and Distinguished Professor in the Department of Urologic Sciences, University of British Columbia. He is the Director of the Vancouver Prostate Center, CEO of the PC-TRIADD National Centre of Excellence in Commercialisation and Research, and has published more than 300 papers and attracted over $60M in research funding. Dr Gleave is the recipient of numerous awards, including the NCIC’s prestigious William Rawls Award for contributions to cancer control in Canada. In 2003, he was appointed a Distinguished University Scholar at the University of British Columbia.
Prof Neal was appointed to the Foundation Chair of Surgical Oncology at the University of Cambridge in 2002 and is Honorary Consultant Urological Surgeon and Clinical Director of the Department of Urology at Addenbrooke’s Hospital. Prof Neal is a Group Leader at the CRUK funded Li Ka Shing Cambridge Research Institute, was Chair of the SAC in Urologyand was appointed to PMETB. Prof Neal has published over 380 peer reviewed articles, and over 100 chapters and books. He holds a CRUK programme grant, where the total grant income is in excess of £57M. Prof Neal is an elected Council Member for the RoyalCollege of Surgeons of England, a Member of the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons and was an elected member of the Post Graduate Medical Education and Training Board. Prof Neal is also an appointed Senior Faculty of the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR).
Prof Walsh is best known for his 30 years as the Professor and Director of the Brady Urological Institute (1974 – 2004) and for his pioneering work in the development of “the anatomic approach to radical prostatectomy”. He is on the Editorial Board of the New England Journal of Medicine and is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. For 25 years he was the editor-in-chief of Campbell’s Textbook of Urology, which has been renamed Campbell Walsh in his honour. In 1996, Prof Walsh received the Charles F Kettering Medal from the General Motors Cancer Research Foundation for “the most outstanding recent contributions to the diagnosis and treatment of cancer.” Prof Walsh was honoured as the 2007 National Physician of the Year for Clinical Excellence by America’s Top Doctors®, and was the co-recipient of the 2007 King Faisal International Prize in Medicine. Prof Walsh served as the President of both the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons and the Clinical Society of Genitourinary Surgeons.

National Research Committee

Prof de Souza is Foundation Professor of Medical Oncology, a specialty in medicine involving the treatment of patients with cancer. Medical Oncologists care for patients with cancer, and sometimes use chemotherapy, medications or other therapies in order to prolong life or improve quality of life.
Prof Costello is one of the leading prostate specialists internationally and is Professorial Fellow & Head Department of Urology, The Royal Melbourne Hospital, affiliated with Department of Surgery, University of Melbourne. Tony pioneered robotic surgery in Australia, is an invited faculty member of the American Urological Association where annually he teaches aspects of robotic surgery to an international audience, and is also on the Editorial Board of the US publication Journal of Robotic Surgery, the British Journal of Urology and the Journal of Endourology.
Prof Nelson is the founding Executive Director of the Australian Prostate Cancer Research Centre - Queensland and Chair of Prostate Cancer Research at Queensland University of Technology. Prof Nelson is also the founder and Director of the Australian-Canadian Prostate Cancer Research Alliance, an initiative developed to coordinate national and international network interactions of >200 prostate cancer scientists and clinicians in Australia and Canada, facilitating access to state-of-the-art infrastructure and clinical trials to assist in the translation of a wide range of discoveries in both countries
Dr Smith is a Research Fellow and cancer epidemiologist at Cancer Council NSW. He has a particular interest in prostate cancer, prostate cancer testing and prostate cancer outcomes in Australia. He has a PhD from Sydney University in which he studied the quality of life outcomes of men with prostate cancer. He is chief investigator and project manager of the NSW Prostate Cancer Care and Outcomes Study. In 2011 he obtained a National Health and Medical Research Council Post-Doctoral Research Fellowship to study the causes of death in men with prostate cancer. He is also currently chief investigator on two NHMRC project grants, one Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia Grant and one partnership grant
Prof Tilley is Director of the Dame Roma Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories, University of Adelaide and Hanson Institute, which incorporates more than 50 researchers and clinicians working on breast and prostate cancer. Professor Tilley returned to Australia in late 1990 after a NHMRC CJ Martin Fellowship at UT Southwestern in Dallas, Texas where he was one of the first to clone the human androgen receptor (AR). In 1997 he was appointed Director of the Flinders Cancer Centre. Following a sabbatical in the Department of Preventive Medicine, the Norris Cancer Center, University of Southern California in 2002, Prof Tilley relocated to the University of Adelaide/Hanson Institute to take up the position of the Dame Roma Mitchell Chair in Cancer Research. Since that time he has developed a research program on hormone action in breast and prostate cancer, and played an integral role in the development of the Adelaide Prostate Cancer Cancer Research Centre and the Freemasons Foundation Centre for Men’s Health.